Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS is a mandatory framework which aims to give the best possible start in life and support every child to fulfil their potential.  

The EYFS underpins all future learning by supporting , promoting and developing children's learning through three primary areas and four specific areas:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

MNKC will plan and provide experiences that meet the needs of individual children, appropriate to each child's stage of development.  We provide a rich and stimulating environment where children can feel safe, secure and develop a sense of well-being and achievement.

Further information on the EYFS can be found here:  


Guidance on your child's learning and development can be found here: